top of page
Couple Autumn Leaves Left_edited.jpg

A simple thank you from us

Katie and Rob would like to thank our wonderful clients for taking the time to write a review on our service.

 

We have one simple aim, to offer an exceptional funeral service at an affordable cost to bereaved families in Torbay.

Our reviews on Funeral Guide

Verified Reviews

Verified Reviews 

 5 Stars Dee Eckett 14th Jun 2022

Very very kind + very very compassionate while dealing with my late husband's funeral. Also very kind + with the help of Katie Mills I was able to give my late husband the best send off he deserved, even down to the design of the order of the service, in which katie designed it was so so personal to my late husband it was amazing every one complmented on it. Katie + Rob from the start to the finish have been amazing nothing has been a problem I was able to talk to them any time of the day or night.

 5 Stars John Kemp 13th Jun 2022

Katie Mills funeral Services made the whole process simple and straight forward, providing great empathy, support and resolutions to our many queries during a difficult time. Katie and Rob's after care and home visits were very much appreciated too. So happy we chose them. We would not hesitate in recommending their services to others. A five star service.

 5 Stars Mark Robbins 11th Jun 2022

We found the Katie and Rob were really supportive during our difficult time. The service they provided for my Mums funeral was a beautiful celebration of her life which is what we wanted. Nothing was was too much for them. They made sure we knew what was happening every step of the way and made the whole thing as easy as a funeral can be. We can't recommend them highly enough and would certainly advise anyone who needs this service to choose Katie Mills.

 5 Stars Lauren Boswell 7th Jun 2022

From the moment we met Katie and Rob we knew they were the people we wanted to take care of our little boy. Nothing was ever to much for them, so kind, compassionate people. We will forever be grateful to them for taking such incredible care of our boy when we no longer could have him at home.

5 Stars Carla Lashmar 11th Mar 2022

Katie took the time to listen, understand and support. A difficult time for any family to navigate which was made easier by Katie's empathy and professional manner. Whilst we hope that this is not a service we require again, we recommend without reservation for other families that are suffering life changing loss. Thank you Katie and the whole team. Carla Lashmar

5 Stars David Power 8th Mar 2022

Excellent service from start to finish. Recommended.

5 Stars Janice Slack 7th Mar 2022

Katie took great care of us from the first phone call .All ways kept us updated and nothing was too much trouble .We never felt pressured into having things we didn’t want .The funeral it’s self was just what we wanted and provided a fitting closure .All went very smoothly and we knew just how things would proceed .I can’t recommended Katie too much ,just lovely .

5 Stars Claire Jones 7th Mar 2022

Katie was fantastic from the moment we met through to mum's funeral. She was so supportive and helpful with decision making and the team were so professional conducting the funeral. Nothing was too much trouble even down to making sure mum's cuddly toy could be incorporated in some way.

5 Stars Taylor Hall 21st Feb 2022

Katie and Rob have gone beyond out of there way to make the send of for our boy Xavier Baxter the most beautiful send of we could have asked for which as much support we needed from both Rob and Katie whenever we needed them they was there and they also went out of there way to suggest things which made the funeral the best. Very personal and intimate. Would recommend them highly. 

5 Stars Caroline Barton 21st Feb 2022

Katie & Rob & their team were superb throughout from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble & they made themselves available to us 24/7. It is obvious they genuinely care so much about the families they look after & I would highly recommend their services to anyone. Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful send off for mum. Alison, Caroline & Nick x

5 Stars Kevin Wills 11th Feb 2022

It was a beautiful service which was made very personal for the family. We were treated with care and sensitivity throughout the process, which thankfully helped to minimise any stress around arranging the funeral in such a distressing time. We would recommend this service to those who are looking for a funeral service who will take the time to make the day as good as it can be given the circumstances.

5 Stars Lisa Crout 9th Feb 2022

Amazing service and couldn’t have asked for anything better, everything was personalised to how we wanted it and lovely people Thank you 

5 Stars Saoirse Read 2nd Feb 2022

Katie and her team where amazing in achieving a very personal , different and individualised service . We are all very grateful and it will be remembered well by all who attended x

5 Stars Wendy Morgan 2nd Feb 2022

My family were very pleased and grateful for the service provided by Katie Mills. The distance and family history made the circumstances difficult but Katie dealt with our situation in a professional and courteous manner and also with compassion which was very much appreciated. 

5 Stars Wendy Louise 2nd Feb 2022

Katie Mills was professional and sensitive. We couldn't have asked for a better service, organisation and communication throughout this difficult time. Many thanks x

5 Stars Michelle Fazakarley 24th Jan 2022

When we needed to plan a funeral we compared several websites and found many of the prices were comparable but having a discount for being in the NHS/Military meant we called Katie Mills first. From the very first call she was welcoming and sympathetic. We needed dates etc sorting quickly and every time she called us back with 5-10 minutes to give us the answers needed. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She was able to put us in contact with a lovely celebrant to perform the service (he was also brilliant) and set up a memorial page which will be ongoing for people to add pictures and memories to for the family to look back on in the future. She was open and honest about every step of the proceedings and the funeral went exactly to plan. She followed up a few days later to check how we were following the service and update about the ashes. From start to finish she has been fantastic and I've already been recommending her to anyone who has asked about this event. Having had anot ...  more

 5 Stars David Lancaster 22nd Jan 2022

Nobody wants to organise a funeral. When my wife of 45 years passed away I was directed to Katie Mills Funeral Services and I’m so thankful I was. Katie offered a very professional, caring and personal service, she was able to cope with my, somewhat dark humour, which I hide behind when I’m grief stricken. She guided me through the procedure from start to finish and the resulting funeral was wonderful. All the family and friends who attended, and those watching the service over the internet were extremely impressed. In the end, Katie felt more like an old friend herself and I have no reservation recommending her company to anybody who needs to organise a funeral. Thank you Katie. David Lancaster.

5 Stars Kaisha Pick 5th Jan 2022

This has been an amazing service at the most difficult time of my life. I couldn’t recommend Katie Mills Funeral service enough. So very thoughtful and gentle. Forever grateful for there amazing service. 

5 Stars Steven Ball 4th Jan 2022

Katie has treated the situation in the most caring way. There has been no pressing or pushing things. I cannot praise her enough.

5 Stars Sandy Clarkson 4th Jan 2022

I cannot praise Katie & Rob highly enough for the help, compassion and support they gave my brother before, during and after the funeral and even ongoing help afterwards. They are a credit to their profession and are of a kind rarely found nowadays. I would not hesitate to highly recommend their services which can be one of the most stressful times of our lives.

5 Stars David Lewis 30th Dec 2021

We would highly recommend Katie and Rob to family and friends. It was a very good service and a job well done.

5 Stars Wendy Walker 29th Dec 2021

At my worse time Katie mills funeral directors was amazing I had never had to do a funeral before and Katie mills made it so easy and the time she put into doing everything for me was more than I can ever thank her for I will never forget her and her team x

5 Stars Laura Jackson 21st Dec 2021

Kind, respectful and great attention to detail. So happy we we chose Katie Mills independent funeral service.

5 Stars Gordon Lynes 2nd Dec 2021

Katie Mills handled the funeral arrangements of my late brother-in-law with competence and compassion: she made it easy.

5 Stars Michael Collins 18th Nov 2021

Katie and Rob were naturally very empathetic. They were organised and flexible and coordinated the whole funeral extremely efficiently. Nothing was too much trouble and they responded to any queries we had in a very timely manner. 

5 Stars Susan Lowe 18th Nov 2021

The kindest, most caring and patient people I have ever had the pleasure of coming across. The thought of organising something like this was so daunting but the minute we met Katie and Rob they took all of those stresses away. They felt like old friends who helped us to plan a celebration, rather than a funeral and we will forever be thankful for them. You don’t come across people like Katie and Rob very often, and we as a family were lucky enough to meet them at the hardest time of our lives. Highly recommend to anyone and everyone. 

 

5 Stars Maureen Corbett 4th Nov 2021

Katie's Mills Independent funeral service went above and beyond to make my husbands William Corbett funeral the best it could be.

 

5 Stars Malcolm Gough 25th Oct 2021

We can’t thank katie and rob enough.

From stat to finish they have Made the whole process stress free.
They listened and supported us and went above and beyond.
The dignity and respect shown would take a lot to beat. We cannot rate them high enough. 

 

5 Stars Jan Jones 25th Oct 2021

Incredible service - Katie and Rob went above and beyond to ensure all of our requests and wishes were met. I cannot rate them highly enough

 

5 Stars Sarah Wright 16th Oct 2021

I cannot recommend this lady her husband and their team enough. If you want a respectful, thoughtful funeral this is the place to come. In our time of grief for my mother Katie took us through the steps in a quiet calm way. She explained all we needed and gave us genuine support with love and compassion. Nothing was too much trouble our every need was catered for, discussed and provided.

The service they offered is rarely seen today. The attention to detail was unrivalled. I can only thank them so much for the most amazing funeral.
I would not hesitate to recommend them. They are an independent funeral company with attention to detail that you will not find in any large funeral companies. I wish them all the best for the future and if ever I have need of a funeral company again they are the only company i would go to.

 

5 Stars Peter Bryant 4th Sep 2021

By definition, when someone seeks the services of a funeral director it means they are going through possibly the worst moments of their lives. Thank goodness I chose Katie Mills Independent Funeral Service. I have had many good services given to me over many years but I cannot recall a better service than that of Katie and Rob.

They always took the time to listen to stories that I had to tell about my dear departed friend and always showed an interest. I was kept informed of every step that was about to take place, there was compassion, understanding and empathy from start to finish, plus of course the obligatory cup of coffee!! I really cannot thank them enough for everything that they did for me and of course the dignified manner in which they looked after my dear friend. Thank you Katie Mills and Rob. Peter Bryant

 

5 Stars Heidi Richards 26th Aug 2021

Katie and Rob were fabulous from the very beginning and are still helping us now even after the funeral. They were kind and compassionate throughout and I feel that they went above and beyond normal procedures to ensure that my husbands funeral went to plan and in style.

Although people do not want to wish their lives away-they were very impressed at the service Katie and Rob provided and took note for future reference. I would not hesitate in recommending their services.

 

5 Stars Anna Reynolds 20th Aug 2021

Couldn’t fault their service. Caring and efficient. Will definitely recommend 

 

5 Stars Nick Thompson 18th Aug 2021

Katie and Rob did everything possible to help us.I was at the other end of the country and didn’t have to worry about anything it was all perfect. The day itself was just so professionally executed  with everything as we wanted it. A real big thank you.

 

5 Stars Patricia Borrett 7th Aug 2021

Katie ,Rob and all the staff dealt with David's Preparations and Funeral in such a Compassionate, Professional and Personal manner.I was consulted and comforted at every step of the process.I can never thank them enough and will definitely be recommending them to all my friends.Godbless you all xxxx

 

5 Stars Brian Jervis 27th Jul 2021

Katie and Rob could not have been more helpful and compassionate. They both understood what our family wanted for my sister and kept us informed at every stage of the arrangements. I cannot thank them enough for the support they provided at a very difficult time for us. Anyone looking for a professional and caring service then I would highly recommend. 

 

5 Stars Pete Millea 27th Jul 2021

I cannot thank Katie an Rob enough. They are caring, compassionate and so so helpful. I really don't know how I would have managed without them.

 

5 Stars Fiona Marston 6th Jul 2021

They did everything very good, and heaped me and guided me with everything. Making the occasion go perfectly stress free for me

 

5 Stars Lynda King 17th May 2021

Katie Mills & her Husband went above and beyond to make everything at the funeral of our dear loved one the best farewell ever.

They are lovely people who are kind  dignified and truly passionate about making the most profoundly saddest of  times easier to deal with.
Your not rushed into choices ,Katie  helps you with her gentle manner, and will try and source anything  required to make your loved ones farewell service special.

Katie Mills Funeral  services offer the old fashioned personal touch from the moment you make the call , absolutely excellent so glad we came to you.
Thank you .
L.

 

5 Stars Maggie Watts 14th May 2021

From the moment I spoke to Katie on the phone, I knew this was the right place to go.

Extremely friendly, comforting, explained all our options for our Cousin David and what we knew would be suitable for his Cremation, and also the different prices for the option that suited our pockets and Davids wishes. Always at the end of the phone when needed..

I would highly recommend Katie Mills Independent Funeral Director, and her Team. Myself and my Husband have put our wishes to our family to use Katie.

Also there is a beautiful Online Tribute Page to share your memories thoughts and photos. Excellent Service.

 

5 Stars Terence Sexton 13th Apr 2021

Everything was carried out with great care and respect,I could not had asked for a more dignified farewell to my Linda

 

5 Stars Nick Heath 2nd Apr 2021

Katie & Rob, along with Brian, the celebrant, provided an absolutely outstanding service. Throughout the whole process, they were there 24 hours a day when needed. They were calm and reassuring, came up with creative solutions to solve complicated family issues and, somehow, managed to make the day of the funeral a fond memory for all involved.

I can’t ever thank them enough for their kindness and understanding in what has been such a sad time. 
It felt like dealing with close family members rather than funeral directors and I highly recommend their service. 

 

5 Stars Aimee Terry 1st Apr 2021

I’d like to thank Katie, Rob and Matilda for all of their help arranging and conducting my dads funeral service. Never having been in this sort of position before and not knowing what to do, I knew from the minute I stepped through the door that, Dad would be here, I can’t thank them enough for their professionalism, the care and love they put in for me and my two sisters. I know that Dad was in the best place, they put no pressure on me, there was no upfront costs which really helped my position, and were so kind from the first phone call. Everything was done so smoothly, the team looked great.  They put us at ease through a very traumatic time, they went above and beyond. I’ll never use anyone else again, they are all such lovely people and I would 100% recommend to anyone! Thank you so much for all of your help and compassion at this hard time. Love Aimee X

 

5 Stars Maureen Rooney 15th Mar 2021

Brilliant service, Kate was outstanding like one of the family, Thanks again

 

5 Stars Teresa Polkinghorne 17th Feb 2021

I would recommend this funeral company to anyone. They organized my dad's funeral a few years ago and my sons funeral just recently they were very compassionate also kept me updated concerning the funeral nothing was ever to much trouble for them. Teresa and kevin Polkinghorne

 

5 Stars Sian Dale 23rd Jan 2021

Katie & Rob were so caring and provided a personal, professional and bespoke funeral for our father.   Nothing was too much trouble and    the attention to detail was  outstanding from the  very beginning right through to  the day of the funeral itself.  We would recommended  them 100%.  

 

5 Stars Jack Oliver 23rd Jan 2021

Katie was unbelievably good, respectful and ensured we gave a wonderful send off to my aunt. She organised everything that was required and made you feel that nothing was too much. The prices were broken down and transparent with no hidden costs. She was extremely Covid aware during the day of the ceremony and ensured there was as little risk as possible. I could not recommend her more.

 

5 Stars Ellie Wright 14th Dec 2020

Could not ask for better especially never having to do this before, Katie and Rob are amazing people and i cant not thank them enough for the service, time and the most amazing support every step of the way. Great business and people would  highly recommend as can not fault one single part of the process ,service and aftercare. Truly thankful for people like these guys.

 

5 Stars Paula Hislop 8th Dec 2020

Katie & Rob supported me every step of the way, helping me to arrange my son's funeral with genuine compassion and understanding. Katie made sure she understood exactly what it was that I was looking for and made sure that was what I got. Nothing was too much trouble and at no time did I ever feel rushed, Katie made time just to sit and listen, when that was what I needed most. I would highly recommend Katie Mills Independent Funeral Service to anyone who needs such a service, you could not be in safer, more loving hands

 

5 Stars Emma Eales 3rd Dec 2020

Katie and Rob are just wonderful

I can honestly say I couldn't have got through this traumatic time without the continuous help and support from Katie and Rob. they truly went above and beyond and made it all so personable.

loosing my mum was so difficult and organising her funeral on my own was so difficult on so may levels but the reassurance and guidance they provided me with pulled me through it, and i can not thank them enough.

Katie and Rob are professional. personable. kind. thoughtful and extremely helpful. Thankyou for a beautiful farewell to my loving mum. I
would recommend in a heart beat .

 

5 Stars Marie Jones 30th Nov 2020

Makes you feel secure comforted very understanding to all your personal needs , excellent friendly people . Couldn't  do enough for me . They went above and beyond to meet my personal needs .fabulous service .Highly recommend .

 

5 Stars Louise Murphy 30th Nov 2020

My family and I would truly thank Katie Mills for her dedicated care of Mr Robin Hayward.

It is very refreshing to see and witness an Independant Funeral Directors ethics are genuine, in respect that they truly care for the deceased and the whole family. Their pricing policy is clear and concise with no hidden unnecessary charges or up-selling!
Katie Mills and her team are kind and mindful people serving our local community at their greatest time of need. We highly recommended and will employ Katie's services again, but hopefully not too soon in the future!!

 

5 Stars Paul Moore 14th Nov 2020

Very impressed at the personal service given by Katie Mills and her partner. A calm and relaxed desire to please at your pace with no pressure selling. Nice newly decorated offices and elegant viewing rooms. Willing to adapt, give options and alter arrangements without a fuss. On the day everything was perfect, professionally & smartly delivered and at a very reasonable price. An exemplar organisation that others can only hope to aspire to. I wish Katie every success for the future and have no hesitation in recommending.

 

5 Stars Zak Theobold 3rd Sep 2020

Couldn't have asked for nicer people. Katie and Rob went above and beyond and made everything so much easier for us in such a difficult time. Cannot thank them enough for everything they did for our little Prince and us.

 

5 Stars George Russell 27th Aug 2020

Katie and Rob were totally professional, sympathetic, respectful and above all else very approachable. They both helped us through the worst of times and in our opinion went the extra mile for us. All our mums wishes were carried out to the letter. We highly regard them and would recommend them to anyone who needs them. 

bottom of page